PDA

View Full Version : what do u fill ur deer feeders with?

sarg
07-12-2012, 10:14 PM
so i'm new to the whole feed station/ trail cam thing, so im just trying to find out what is the best feed to fill the feeder with? and should i leave a salt block around and if so what colour? or is there other ways to hole the deer(game) around the camer?

rocksteady
07-13-2012, 10:24 AM
My opinion, others may differ....

I don't think it really matters what type of feed you put out, when teh critters find it they will eat it...

I tried sweet feed in a feeder.... )corn/oats/molasses etc).. no action for a week then they ate it all in about 2 days (3 deer)... replaced it with flatted oats, again they left it for a week and then 1 buck was the only critter showing on the trail cam... The fat little bugger ate the 50 lbs by himself in about a week...

Others have tried corn cob, grain, you name it....

You just got to try something and see the results, each deer has their own preference... Luckily feed is fairly cheap $10 for a 50 lb bag usually...

I had dumped out crates of old apples a few years ago (which some guys say work well) and all I attracted was wasps...

Salt - any colour works, again depends on what the critter likes...

BCHunterTV
07-13-2012, 01:23 PM
peanut butter

BCHunterTV
07-13-2012, 01:37 PM
we set up our feeders around this guys sheds,

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/177133_10150915303590069_122635982_o.jpg

silvicon
07-13-2012, 08:03 PM
Cut apples, the DO work!

BCHunterTV
07-14-2012, 11:27 AM
Cut apples, the DO work!

ive heard apples and apple juice poured on stumps

Barracuda
07-14-2012, 12:08 PM
now im starting to get hungry :lol:

dave_fras
07-14-2012, 05:29 PM
cracked corn!.. its all i ever use!!.......just picked up 2 bags today!

boothcreek
07-14-2012, 09:10 PM