PDA

View Full Version : lots of kamloops rain.

gmcslinger
06-19-2012, 10:52 AM
hey all i am fairly new to hunting about 3 years and i was wondering with all this rain in kamloops we have been having does it affect the population if grouse and rabbits it seemed like 2 years ago in august i was out rabbit hunting and saw tons and tons of grouse and alot of chicks , it rained really hard for about 2 week then once sept rolled around there deffinatly werent as many as i thought there would be would all the rain result in the chicks drowning etc or do they move on to new ground i kno it seems like a stupid question but like i saqy i am new to this and any knowledge i can gain is a plus for me thanks.

Matty_ola
06-19-2012, 11:04 AM
Ruffed grouse populations vary dramatically over time, both with the seasons and over the span of many years. Over the course of each year the population may swell by late summer to 3 or 4 times the spring level with the production of young. But, winter mortality rates may approach 75% in bad years. Within a given region grouse numbers tend to rise and fall in roughly a 10 year cycle, with the highest densities (#birds / unit area) reaching about 8 times the lowest levels. In BC, grouse populations have been known to average around 10-15 birds / square kilometre.
Severe winters with little snow cover are hard on ruffed grouse. Disease, weather and predation all play roles in the population cycles of this species. But this is a species with high fecundity; that is, it can produce many young, rapidly, so its population can recover quickly.

lovemywinchester
06-19-2012, 11:17 AM
There is no shortage of grouse around Kamloops so far this spring. I have had the crap scared out of me by escaping grouse on many occasions while hiking this spring. My theory would be a wet spring would produce a lot more plant life and food which should mean more grouse.

Big Lew
06-19-2012, 11:22 AM