PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with acouple of questions

Josethesiningfish
06-16-2012, 05:52 PM
Hi guys!

So my grandpa was a hunter and I have been wanting to pick up the tradition in the family. I remember as a child I used to love to eat venison better than beef and I am beginning to believe that venison is much healthier than beef. I really do not know where to start or what to do. Any advice is greatly appreciated. I have been wanting to start with small things and work myself up to deer. As I mentioned in the title I am a Newbie.

I would like to start with an Air Riffle capable of shooting squirrels and Grouse.

cheers

Jo

BuckEye
06-16-2012, 06:00 PM
Do you have your PAL.
if you do, you can start with an air rifle over 495 ft per second. Ether way the Diana or Gamo name brands are popular air rifles. Squirrels sure, grouse may get you in trouble without a hunting license.

scoutlt1
06-16-2012, 06:12 PM
Read as many threads on here that have nothing to do with politics or hockey, go join your local fish and game club, take your CORE and get your PAL, ask as many questions as you can, read the hunting regs, then read them again, practice with whatever you are shooting so that you can make an "ethical" kill....and find someone, or more than one person that will take you hunting to show you the "ropes".
Soak in as much information as you can.
Hunting for most of us on here is the best way to spend our time.
Welcome.

keoke
06-16-2012, 07:16 PM