PDA

View Full Version : Wildlife Act - Attracting dangerous wildlife

BearSupreme
06-08-2012, 09:37 PM
Hey folks, just thought id bring this to new hunters attention. Ive been hunting for a few years, and as far as the regulations go, it says that you cant bait bears. I never saw anything about baiting other animals. After looking in the wildlife act, it says that you cant bait bears OR wolves OR coyotes OR cougars. This was total news to me, and im sure for a few others

33.1 (1) A person must not

(a) intentionally feed or attempt to feed dangerous wildlife, or

(b) provide, leave or place an attractant in, on or about any land or premises with the intent of attracting dangerous wildlife.

"dangerous wildlife" means

(a) bear, cougar, coyote or wolf, or

(b) a species of wildlife that is prescribed as dangerous wildlife;

Ive talked to quite a few hunters about baiting cougar and wolf, and no one seems to know that under the wildlife it is illegal with a maximum fine of 100,000 and/or 1 year!

How many other hunters knew this?

Jeff88
06-08-2012, 09:38 PM
umm ,no im pretty sure most hunters no that baiting bears is illegal

Gateholio
06-08-2012, 09:57 PM
Feeding and baiting are 2 different things. There is a reason why bear baiting is specifically mentioned as being illegal and cougars, wolves, coyotes aren't.

BearSupreme
06-08-2012, 10:06 PM
umm ,no im pretty sure most hunters no that baiting bears or couger is illegal..

"attractant" means any of the following:

(a) food or food waste, compost or other waste or garbage that could attract dangerous wildlife;

(b) a carcass or part of a carcass of an animal or fish, or other meat;

(c) any other substance or thing prescribed by regulation of the minister;