PDA

View Full Version : Kuiu Spindrift Jacket?

Garret
06-06-2012, 09:21 AM
I'm looking at buying this jacket online but not sure what size to get, as I have never tried on the jackets before. anynow know how if they fit tight or loose? I'm fairly tall as well so looking for anyones feedback on the jackets.

any advice helps!

bigwhiteys
06-06-2012, 09:29 AM
Sizing runs like Sitka... It's "athletic". I would order 1 size larger than you think you need if you plan to layer underneath it.

Carl

Rubberfist
06-06-2012, 09:41 AM
I'm 6'3", 220lbs and the XL fit perfectly. However, I have to state that piece was the only disappointing item in the Kuiu line-up: I used it on goat and sheep hunts last year and found that it did not provide adequate warmth for our climate (northern BC) and once it gets wet, it is next to useless.

The Spindrift is an aberration however, as the rest of the Kuiu outerwear is outstanding.

Stone Sheep Steve
06-06-2012, 09:45 AM
I'm 6'3", 220lbs and the XL fit perfectly. However, I have to state that piece was the only disappointing item in the Kuiu line-up: I used it on goat and sheep hunts last year and found that it did not provide adequate warmth for our climate (northern BC) and once it gets wet, it is next to useless.

The Spindrift is an aberration however, as the rest of the Kuiu outerwear is outstanding.

I haven't worn one yet..but one guy in our camp last yr had one and I was a little skeptical about it as it seemed pretty thin compared to other down jackets that I've looked at.

SSS

bigwhiteys
06-06-2012, 01:18 PM
I haven't worn one yet..but one guy in our camp last yr had one and I was a little skeptical about it as it seemed pretty thin compared to other down jackets that I've looked at.

It's a synthetic (primaloft). My Mountain Hardwear Nitrous (down) with a hood weighs a little less than the spindrift but it's 800 fill down. Almost too warm... great for late season...

snareman1234
06-06-2012, 01:41 PM

Agree 100%

Blockcaver