PDA

View Full Version : How to tell bear's 2 or better?

Walkntalk
05-23-2012, 12:56 PM
OK, I know that I've seen the answers To this before, but can't be sure and appologize for repeating old questions. I did a few searches and couldn't find the answers.

I'm new to hunting and have been out 2 springs now for bear, but without connecting. I've had a few chances, but haven't pull the trigger because I wasn't SURE of the bear's age. These signs I have looked for and seen:
- bear is alone
- lack of narrow, angular face / muzzle with ears close together
- did not appear to be all legs and gangly
- did not appear to move quickly and dart around nervously
- bellies that hung a little lower

I've also heard you ol' boys talkin about ground shrinkage and wonder if I am expecting too big a target. If anything, I am mis-judging the bears to be younger than they are and then NOT taking the shot. I am happy with this cause I know I'm not taking a youngster for sure.

But, I also don't want to miss out and am seeing some nice bears posted in threads that look even smaller than those that I am passing up.

So, the question is ... How DO you tell the bear's age?

I think I remember a post saying that if they are alone, then they are 2 or better. Is that right?

Thanks for the help.

WnT

The Dawg
05-23-2012, 12:59 PM
You've pretty much got my criteria right there.

When its a big bear, you will know immediately. Take that shot. :)

Foxton Gundogs
05-23-2012, 01:21 PM
The big ones are no problem like ND says when they are big you know it. The rough ones is when u r looking for that in-be-tweener the one that is going to give you fantastic meat but not be to small either. look long and hard on the "meat bears"

05-23-2012, 01:38 PM
look at the bear here in PG66's video
http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?82353-Follow-the-Pemby-bear-hunt-Part-2&highlight=pemberton