PDA

View Full Version : little chief and general sausage questions

antileno
05-21-2012, 10:14 PM
so i'm relatively new in the sausage game and while i have been reading on here for hours i haven't found any answers as of yet to my specific questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated, here goes

1) when stuffing sausage what are your tricks to minimizing air bubbles? I made a batch of kielbasa yesterday and had a hell of a time keeping he sausages uniformed and keepining the air bubbles at bay. i did try to squish the meat into the stuffer the best i coud but it didnt seem to help.

2) i have a little chief smoker and while i know that it will not get hot enough to achieve the internal temperatue required it does smoke well. how the hell do you get any amount of sausage in there? i tried to rig up some wire in the vent holes to hang links but they ended up all sliding together and some got smoked more than others. can you just cut the links apart and place them on the racks rather than try to hang links? also if i do cut them into individual links prior to smoking will the meat untwist the ends and ooze out?

3) I watched a video on you tube about sausage making and they poked the sausage casing with a pin all over prior to smoking to allow meat to breathe? Is that required? what about popping the air bubbles with a pin? I read that bacteria will form in the air pockets, should i pbe worried about this with the sausage i,ve made? I have eaten some already and it seems fine .

antileno
05-21-2012, 10:15 PM
Thanks in advance to any help it s greatly appreciated!

Bear Chaser
05-22-2012, 12:56 AM
In one of the sausage making books that I read by Rytek Kutas written in the seventies he recommended popping the air bubbles with a needle. He also used hardwood dowels for hanging the links from.
I'm pretty sure you could finish the cooking in your oven after you've gotten the smoke to your satisfaction.