PDA

View Full Version : How are often are you checked?

Mulehahn
05-18-2012, 09:12 PM
Well, it finally happened! I was actually asked for my BC fishing licence. I have been fishing regularly throughout this province for over 25 years and last night was the first time I was asked to produce a licence. Not a big deal, I always bye one, and the cop (it was RCMP) was great. He was joking with my nephew, and was very friendly, but still. Close to 26 years is along time. I fish fairly often, not as hardcore as some guys I know but at least 2-3 weekend trips a year plus I have no idea how many outings to local lakes and rivers after work, or crabbing and other adventures that I do when I cant sleep and the tide is right. I have run into C/O's while fishing, but not once has one asked to see my licence, just talked a bit and was told good luck. When I was fishing in Alaska I was checked 4 times in 3 days. I have also been checked in California, Florida, Texas, Alberta and others. And those were when I was only there a week at most, not living and playing there all year. This raises the question, I am I just lucky or is this a common experience? How often have people on here been asked to produce their licence?

TPB
05-18-2012, 09:29 PM
I've been checked 4 times in 3 years but twice was on the same day... mind you I was under 16 and didn't require a license, the CO was just more impressed that a bunch of 15/16 year old kids were out camping and fishing by themselves

Whonnock Boy
05-18-2012, 09:42 PM
Unfortunately, I think your experience is par for the course. With both fishing and hunting I am lucky if I get checked once every year. In the last ten years I have probably averaged 75 to 100 days out on the water, and in the bush. Could be one of the reasons why there is so much poaching going on.

421fighter
05-18-2012, 09:42 PM
Twice in 60 years. Dave

05-18-2012, 09:54 PM