PDA

View Full Version : Elk in the north...starting my homework for the fall - A few Questions

Resolute
04-29-2012, 10:05 PM
Hi All,
Starting to do some research for the fall Elk hunt and have had great input from folks here in the past so I thought I'd run a few things by you all. I'm fairly new to Elk hunting in any serious kind of way. I've gone out and randomly wandered around in Elk country in the past but more recently have been putting in the effort to learn a proper approach. I've been reading books, listening to CD's and I have all my calls laid out on the seat beside me during my commute to and from work and think I'm making some progress.

Last fall I went to an area just outside Cranbrook for 10 days. It was great because we saw a few Elk and had some really good learning experiences. On the down side, we were there too early and missed out on the rut. We also had some pretty negative experiences with some other hunters who just didn't seem to give a damn about etiquette or even ethics for that matter.

I've always been the kind of guy who wants to park the truck and get out into the bush. I'm not the slightest bit deterred by a hike of several hours to get away from everyone roaring up and down the roads on their quads and in their trucks. After all, no matter how good that guy is with his cow call, I just can't figure a 6-point bull is gonna walk right up to him in his Chevy just cause he's blowing a call out the window.