PDA

View Full Version : Broadhead Practice

alpinehunter
04-21-2012, 12:53 PM
I am new to using a bow, have practiced alot and I am ready to go hunt bears but have one questions.

From what I have read you are to use one broadhead for practice and rest for hunting??

I believe this is to keep rest sharp, I have a problem with this because what if they all don't fly the same?

Should I practice with all broadheads to ensure they hit the mark at all ranges??

Thanks

warren

bochunk2000
04-21-2012, 02:13 PM
Warren you should get some great replies on here for this question. In my oppinion if your bow is tuned and you have spun you arrows with your broad heads on then they should all fly the same. Parctice with one and save the others as sharp as possible to ensure a quick clean kill.
Steve

Bowzone_Mikey
04-21-2012, 02:46 PM
They should all fly the same as Bochunk mentioned .... Several broadheads on the market now actually come with "practice blades" so you can test all your arrows ..... if you dont want rely upon what should happen ... or you dont have practice blades ... you could shoot all your arrows and give them a a quick run on the wetstone before you go hunting.

some reasons why they all wont fly the same. Insert not squared properly to the shaft ... nock not squared ... etc.....

RoscoeP
04-21-2012, 02:47 PM
G5 makes practice broadheads, they are the same, just dull edges and fly the same. They are easier on the target also, I have one pack of three and 2 packs of the sharp ones. I think the practice ones were cheaper. Cheers Roscoe

Bow Walker
04-21-2012, 05:33 PM
Hell - shoot all your broadheads into the practice target. Just sharpen them until you can shave with them before you go hunting.

After all - this is only advice - do what you think is best....................

StoneChaser
04-21-2012, 06:26 PM
Just got in from shooting with buddy, and he was using his new bow that he paper tuned and has shooting well with field points.