PDA

View Full Version : Question About Turkey Activity

hunter1947
04-15-2012, 02:47 AM
I was out shed hunting on Friday and noticed three female turkeys running away from me my question is will there be more of them around in this area ??? ,will they stay in this area after I spooked them ???.

Are they territorial and if so would this be a good place to set up and try calling for the male turkey ??? lets hear what you avid turkey hunters have to say about turkey hunting and there behavior.

Last year at the beginning of May whil shed hunting I heard two different turkeys calling in two different areas will they still be in the same are if they survived the hunting season as for the winter ??? ,I am new at turkey hunting and never hunted them before all information about turkey behavior ETC would help me as for others that read feed back from you turkey hunters on my thread....

wicket
04-15-2012, 05:13 AM
set up there and listen and call at first light be there before sunrise. if you arent in the right spot you can move and call or set up on them the next morning. thats the simple short answer

huntwriter
04-15-2012, 06:03 AM
I was out shed hunting on Friday and noticed three female turkeys running away from me my question is will there be more of them around in this area ??? ,will they stay in this area after I spooked them ???.

Usually there will be more turkeys in the same area. Although the Merriam's turkey do not live in large flocks like the Eastern Wild turkey there can be as many as as 15 birds in one flock. The territory of each flock overlap so there could be quite a few more birds then you have seen. Turkeys do not abandon their territory because they get spooked. These birds get spooked all the time about a variety of this.

Are they territorial and if so would this be a good place to set up and try calling for the male turkey ???