PDA

View Full Version : Recurve for a beginner?

Iron Sighted
03-05-2012, 07:44 PM
Beginner here looking to get my first bow. I have no past experience at all, but I have decided that traditional bows are the only ones that hold appeal for me,take-down recurves in particular(though I have seen some nice modern longbows as well, so maybe one in the future). I plan to shoot instinctive.

I was hoping some of you more experienced archers could maybe make some suggestions as to what might be a good starter bow. So far the Samick Sage has caught my attention more than any others, due to the extremely affordable price and the fact that I haven't seen a negative review of it anywhere(and about 1000 positive ones). I was thinking of getting one with 30-35# limbs and then maybe buying some 45-50# limbs in a few months when my form, skill, and muscle development allow for it, and then ultimately getting a nicer one sometime in the future(Checkmate Hunter III maybe?).

Anyways, I'd be happy to hear your suggestions and opinions and any nuggets of wisdom you'd like to impart. I plan to hunt and target shoot if it makes any difference, though hunting will not be happening until I feel confident in my skills, so I guess target first primarily.

I love that I will be able to practice anytime I want in my backyard, I don't know what kept me from pursuing this sport previously but I'm glad I've gotten past whatever it was, I know this is gonna be fun!

Also I'd love to hear opinions on youth bows, my 8 year old daughter has told me she'd like to start in archery as well(thinking a recurve here again). Being able to practice with her will make the sport all the more enjoyable. Any tips for her development are appreciated.

Bow Walker
03-05-2012, 09:27 PM
I'd probably go with the 40-45 pound limbs right from the get-go. 10 pounds isn't much in a recurve, and if you get good enough you can hunt with it at that poundage.

Go with the Sage if it looks/feels right to you.

Red_Mist