PDA

View Full Version : Moose hunting near Prince Gearge

Wayne
10-18-2006, 02:07 PM
I have been hunting for 3 years now and I am starting to learn the deer habits, but when it comes to moose, it’s a different story. I don’t know experienced hunters and this forum is my only hope.

This Thanksgiving week I went for the second year in a roll South-East of Prince George – the area around Grizzly Lake. And for the second time I came back empty handed. And that would be OK, if could at least see a moose. There is something I do wrong. My impressions are that:

I am the only one chasing the moose on foot. All other hunters (and there were many) were scouting the area on trucks, SUVs or ATVs. I am starting to think, that the chances to spot a moose are much greater when you are just slowly driving around, than walking or stalking.
My tactics were: find an area with fresh droppings or just abundant droppings, then find a more or less open space in that area and stand still there for hours early morning or late afternoon. For some reason I thought that moose should be in the low elevations, close to rivers, lakes or swamps. Indeed, I saw a lot of tracks in such areas, but they were all old. The only droppings I saw though were in higher elevations in the forests. Maybe the fact that the willows had lost 70-80% of their leaves has something to do with it?
When I saw my tactics didn’t work, I spent many hours sitting still by the edges of clear cuts. I am starting to think that moose, unlike deer, do not show on clear cuts and prefer to stay in thick shrubs.
I also spent long hours around swamps, but same thing, no moose showed up. Maybe they avoid the water during the hunting season, as they would make too much noise in the water?