PDA

View Full Version : Ground Blind

Walksalot
02-05-2012, 09:32 AM
I am thinking of purchasing a ground blind for the up coming season. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I would like it for both archery and rifle hunting.

bearhunter338-06
02-05-2012, 09:39 AM
I was going to build a ground blind for my self. I scouted out the area I wanted and had the perfect spot located. Then I had my hartattack. When I was able to drive again I went to my spot to find out someone shot my moose.........:-(

hunterdon
02-05-2012, 10:53 AM
Not to say that I am an expert in ground blinds. I did buy a ground blind at Canadian Tire about 7 years ago. Most people probably think that ground blinds are not noticed by deer. At least I thought so. Anyways deer do seem to noticed anything different about the area, including a recently erected ground blind. With that in mind, whatever ground blind you choose to purchase, it's a good idea to put some natural scenery around your ground blind. I use some coniferous branches, sticks or whatever. This helps to break up the outline of your blind and seems to work quite well. A ground blind also helps to provide shelter from wind and cold making the hunt more comfortable. It also gives you some relief should you care to move around a bit without being spotted by an unnoticed approaching deer which all bow hunters can appreciate.
Good hunting!

Singleshotneeded
02-05-2012, 11:36 AM
Yes, cut some branches and drape them around your ground blind, to make it look more natural!
Cabelas.com has a nice selection of blinds, take a look.

gbear
02-05-2012, 03:04 PM
Yes, cut some branches and drape them around your ground blind, to make it look more natural!
Cabelas.com has a nice selection of blinds, take a look.

Yes, that sure works. I had a whitetail buck use the branches to make a scrape and put his rack right through my blind.

I've always just used the ameristep dog house blinds.

Davey Crockett
02-05-2012, 07:57 PM