PDA

View Full Version : Coyote howling

lone wolf
02-04-2012, 11:40 PM
I am new to coyote huntin . All geared up and got my first one last weekend . Took my 4 yr old son out for a mid morning hunt and we came home empty . Figured i would head out in the afternoon by myself . Such a beautifull day . My first spot I saw 2 moose . Thats ok i move to another spot and after beeing set up I hear a sled coming .He drops onto the swamp I'm set up on and rips around . OH well this spot is shot . I chew the quad through a trail I know that is not well used . First swamp I come across I set up . Leanin against a tree . Start with female howlls . Nothing . Move to male challenge . Sun is starting to set . So make the last effort a rabbit distress . Not long into it I see a shadow racing through trees on the other side . Game on . Except I lose sight . Where is he at?? I shut the call off as this thing should be close . Can't hear anything so I lip squeek . Nothing . I fire the call back up and this thing is 40 yrds away . I cannot see it but its making a hell of a racket with this barking and howling . Loud and close . I don't know how to get him out . I change to a male challenge . OOps This intensified the situation . My foxpro and a coyote are going at it noisely . Then another yote came in behind this one . I am losing light fast and can't get a sight on either of them . This is loud and spine tingling to be so close to all this racket . I hear a difference between the 2 . Change sounds to a female howl . And all is same . Loud and right there bark bark bark short howl . I stop the call and they continue . I have lost a lot of light and am gonna pull out . I walk 25 yrds to my call and still at it . Untill I yell at them . I see how coyote hunting is both frustrating and addicting . Was an experience . So close yet so far .

Livewire322
02-04-2012, 11:59 PM
12 gauge for those close encounters... buy yourself a mojo critter.

knighthunter
02-05-2012, 10:29 AM