PDA

View Full Version : How to ask for permission to hunt on private land?

DuckDuckGoose
01-23-2012, 08:59 PM
Hi Guys,

Im new to the hunting scene, and decided to get my feet wet with ducks as the family already had a shotgun... got my first ducks the other day and now Im hooked :mrgreen:! (Now Im eagerly awaiting the Goose openings!)

But my problem...

Where to hunt? Driving around abbotsford/chilliwack with all their puddled out fields, or along the fraser, or down in delta, etc. It seems like theres a multitude of areas to go, but many of them are on private land which leads me to my question:

How do you guys go about asking for permission to hunt on someones land?

Perhapes I'm over thinking this, and I just need to go knock on some doors, but I want to make sure I go about things in the accepted/expected manner, and would be grateful if you guys could fill me in on your methods!

My assumptions so far:
-Go in the off season in plain clothes
-offer something in return(you scratch my back...)
-Phone ahead?

Thanks.

Str8shooterbc
01-23-2012, 09:26 PM
I lived in Abbotsford in the late 70s early 80s. It wasn't quite as complicated then as it is now but everything on the flats, both Sumas and Matqui, was privately owned land. I gained access to a lot of hunting on both those prairies by doing a simple resume stating my name and address as well as a few things about myself including the clubs I belong to, the insurance policies that I had both through my house and the Rod and Gun Clubs and their membership in the BC Wildlife Federation. I also included a little bit about myself, the amount experience I had for an example. I had plenty of Duck and Goose shooting all fall and even would get hunting in the evenings after work.