PDA

View Full Version : No deer in Merritt

reach
10-09-2006, 10:20 AM
at least not where I looked. :lol:

I drove up on Friday via some back roads and camped at 4800 ft. Bright & early Saturday I hiked about 5 km up to about 5700 ft through some fresh snow and didn't see any deer tracks at all. I hadn't seen any on the drive in after dark either, so I wasn't surprised to see nothing in the morning.

Down lower seemed to be fairly heavily used cattle ranching area. Do deer coexist with cattle on the open range? In my limited experience I haven't seen as many deer in areas with cattle as in areas without. I suppose there's too much competition for food?

Near the top I did find some fresh moose tracks and followed them for a while... I think it was a cow and a calf but I'm new at this so couldn't be sure. I didn't have a moose tag anyway so once the tracks headed down the wrong drainage away from the truck, I turned around.

It sure was a beautiful morning for a hike though. So far, hunting has been a great excuse to get out there and see some country.

http://www.junkpile.net/hunting/merritt_snow_1.jpg

http://www.junkpile.net/hunting/merritt_snow_2.jpg

browningboy
10-09-2006, 10:28 AM
Where you up around Chataway area? I've tried up there a few times years ago without any success either, at least you got to see some nice country!

pupper
10-09-2006, 11:30 AM
Ive never had good success with merrit either, but I beleive that there are big deer in their but merrit is not the place to see quantitys of deer.
I followed a buck around chattaway last year but it outsmarted me and I never got a shot off.

mark
10-09-2006, 11:37 AM
Moo too, have hunted a little around there with no success! I know merrit has good deer hunting i just havnt found it yet. seems like everywhere i go around there is owned by some cattle ranch!

3kills
10-09-2006, 12:46 PM