PDA

View Full Version : Identifying Canines in the bush, forests and field meadows for hunting purposes?

Jelvis
12-27-2011, 08:00 PM
----deleted------

new hunter
12-27-2011, 09:00 PM
coyotes are smaller and skinnier than wolves , features are a little more feminine or even fox like ( pointier face ) . All the coyotes around here seem to have sandy coloured coats , usually a little grey under fur and black tips on the hairs .
I believe wolves are more thick in the front , although I'm no expert .
You see enough coyotes and you'll recognise them from a mile away . They have a certain walk , kind of a short stride and it looks like theyre running on theyre tip toes .
Dogs seem a little more lumbering in theyre stride , they have a different gait and they almost seem more clumsy .
I don't know about responding to a call , but when you see a coyote they always look like theyre on a mission , and they almost always seem to stop once theyre near cover and look at you . Dogs on the other hand seem to be more aimless and easilly distracted. Think of when you see dogs roaming youre neighberhood , theyre on vacation and sight seeing , wereas when you see a coyote theyre generally at work and seem to know were there going and what theyre doing .
As for vocalising , coyotes make more of a broken yip call , not the long toned howl that wolves are known too . As far as I know , niether wild species is known to bark .

Jelvis
12-27-2011, 09:08 PM
--------------------

olympia
12-27-2011, 10:36 PM
coyotes have nicer bums too

Jelvis
12-27-2011, 11:27 PM
---------------------

SHAKER
12-28-2011, 09:31 AM
I think the wolf has a tail that is held above body line while the coyote holds it tail straight out or slightly down.
This is what some canine hunter was telling me about the different traits of canine as seen from either side view, walking or tripping along