PDA

View Full Version : Steelheading on the Campbell River/Quinsam River

Shooter Jr.
12-20-2011, 11:59 PM
Im fairly new to fly fishing but became very successful in almost no time! i had the pinks, and the chums down pretty easily, and now, I'm interested in some steelies. Can anybody help with some advice? I am new to fly fishing so anything is helpful. Im looking for any advice, mainly answers to the following questions
Any good fly patterns for winter steelhead?
Best time for some Steelies?
What kind of water is best to fish for steelies? (pools, fast running water etc.)
do tides have a big effect?
any other information is very helpful too!
Thanks in advance.

Drillbit
12-21-2011, 12:07 AM
Is there such a thing as a "ROE" fly, that's where I'd start.

Shooter Jr.
12-21-2011, 12:15 AM
Is there such a thing as a "ROE" fly, that's where I'd start.

So like an egg pattern? maybe a glowbug?

Johnnybear
12-21-2011, 01:03 AM
Shooter Jr. if your in the area stop by and talk to the folks at this shop..........

http://nilecreekflyshop.com/

I'm sure they can steer you in the right direction8-).

The funny little store with things galore........oh wait that was Johnson Hardware in Nanaimo. Same idea different store:-D.

5 spike
12-21-2011, 05:44 AM
Go for a stroll on the quiny and the campbell jr watch and learn. The boys that fish steelies in the river will give you all the info you need. Good luck buddy.

knockturnal
12-21-2011, 09:11 AM
Dark flies in dirty water. Bright flies in clear water. That, and a whole lotta patience.

spongebob
12-21-2011, 09:28 AM
I always seem to find steelhead lurking/hiding behind boulders/logs/gravelbed depressions etc. in water thats flowing about 'walking' speed, maybe just a bit quicker, and always within a couple feet of the bottom.

steel_ram
12-21-2011, 10:29 AM
It's a big jump from Pinks and Chums to Winter Steelhead on the fly. All rivers have there peak times, and for flyfishing, water levels are more important.