PDA

View Full Version : very young hunter

Shop Lord
09-29-2006, 09:27 PM
I've got a 6 year old cousin in law who is super excited about hunting. I have been hunting for 18 years and have shown new hunters how to hunt but never anyone so young. Neither of his parents hunt or fish but I have been given the go ahead to take him out. He's a pretty young 6 year old and is full of energy but I can't wait for him to start shooting. I have a pellet gun with his name on it and if anyone has any advice it would be appreciated.

Steeleco
09-29-2006, 09:46 PM
Go slow and make things fun, even on the slow days. Kids can get bored or distracted real easy. My son is now 10 and it's got so I can't go out without him. I made it about seeing animals and not so much about shooting them! Also be VERY firm with the rules but fair as well, he'll respect you and look up to you all the more.

I've balled my son out once in the house for breaking the no touch rule, it hurts making them cry but some lessons only need to be taught once. I'm pretty sure even at this age he won't be making any stupid mistakes.

overthetop
09-29-2006, 09:55 PM
I made my kid carry an unloaded rifle for the first year and watched his muzzle controll very closely.

PGKris
09-29-2006, 10:11 PM
I made my kid carry an unloaded rifle for the first year and watched his muzzle controll very closely.

That's what my dad did with me.....and I'll do the same with my kids. I had two, not one, but TWO, accidental firings tonight (something wrong with my firing pin....not going out till its fixed) and it really drove home why you HAVE to practice safe muzzle control.
Start em young!!

Islandeer
10-01-2006, 09:32 AM