PDA

View Full Version : Peace area bucks

browningboy
09-29-2006, 09:01 PM
:| I was wondering, everytime I go up to Dawson area or up by Mile 132 of the Alaska Hwy, I always run into massive bucks but there is never an opening while we're hunting moose / elk. I seem to observe a healthy population of deer so why is the deer season so strict? Was it "shot" out at one point or have the deer just migrated up there in the past decade? I have been hunting up in the peace for 8 years now and love it, but I always see the game with a healthy buck to doe ratio (that I've seen).?
:|

JMac
09-29-2006, 09:35 PM
Basically what I know about these deer is what I was told (from a very reliable source you might say). A couple people I know have seen more than one book deer when they were hunting moose in this area. These deer are very tame due to the fact they aren't hunted. All I can say is those big boys and the rest of the herd summer there (crown land). If you go there when the season opens those deer will have left/migrated. Apparently most of them travel/winter along the river and farmland where a lot of it is private land. If you know a farmer with a big spread of land you'll be in the grocery store of big hawgs.
Feel free to check it out. I know I probably would. However I'll trust my reliable source and others that have been there only to find their big tame bucks have left for greener pastures.

browningboy
09-29-2006, 09:43 PM
Thats usally the truth for me, once my hunting party shows up they all migrate to Mexico:lol:

willy442
09-29-2006, 09:47 PM
The deer hunting here brings so many people and problems for the local farmers, that it is very hard to gain access to most of the better spots. These big bucks are rarely seen during the rifle season as they are mostly in the steep breaks along the peace river and merging streams. Access to these spots is mostly across private farms. If you want to take part in a gong show, come here about Nov 10th.

Good Luck

browningboy