PDA

View Full Version : My hunting season, long read! PT1

TheDark
12-05-2011, 08:07 PM
So this year has been a great year of hunting for me. I started out with a couple of goals. One was to redeem myself from my horrible year of hunting the two years before. I made a lot of newbie mistakes, although I learned a lot and found some great spots for mature Blacktails.

One of my other goals was to harvest a black bear up until this point I had always bought a bear tag with the notion of taking one, but never did. I always shot them with the camera rather then my gun.

I’ve been hunting for a few years now, first year was with my mentor who taught me a lot and helped me with two deer. The next two years after that I struck out on my own and struck out completely.

Next was to get a moose! A good friend and his family invited me to enter with them for a Bull Moose draw which we got. Yikes I can hardly harvest a Blacktail now I have to get a moose 1200km away from home? Talk about pressure.

Last but not least to throw a wrench in all my Blacktail hunting plans, my girl and I moved up to region 8 just outside Kelowna from Vancouver island.
So here I am at the end of my hunting season pleased to say I accomplished all this and much more!

Stories and pictures up next, keep reading!

Well let’s start with the first season, my spring bear. After reading a lot of post on here I decide against taking a fall bear due to the salmon run. After all we wanted to get an editable bear more than a trophy bear.

So I started hunting early in the season, didn’t see anything at all. Not until the end of May did we see anything, then started seeing five plus every time we went out. But same thing! Either I took pictures of them, or they were sows with cuddly little cubs.

So near the end of season it looked as if I wouldn’t find a bear this year (impossible on Vancouver Island not to fill bear tags) I was working graveyard for 4 weeks straight. No time off to hunt great.