PDA

View Full Version : Looking for GPS input

Pioneerman
11-25-2011, 08:19 PM
Hi , I am looking at getting a new GPS for the ATV and packing around. I have been using the Lowrance H2Oc for a few years, but it is shutting down on me too often. So what I am thinking about is the Garmin as it can interface with Google earth. I see Gpscity.com sent me a email today showing the Garmin Oregon 450 on for $219 but the reviews say the screen is not bright and eats batteries, anyone use one of these? I would also like one that I can use rechargeable batteries in so it recharges when plugged into the bike. I am open to other models, but want to be able to use it with Google earth.

Thanks...Mike

Ry151
11-25-2011, 11:35 PM
I haven't used those specific models but you can't go wrong with garmin! ( just my opinion) Most mapping software works with them. For hunting/ hiking I would make sure they can take AA or AAA battery's so that you can replace then while out on a hunt.

Jagermeister
11-26-2011, 12:09 AM
You should be able to find a Garmin GPSmap 60CSx on sale somewhere. Now comes the part that always gets the arguments going about what software to use. I use the early version of TOPO Canada. It does not show the itsy bitsy stuff like Backroads does such as depicted on their mapbook. However, I have been using TOPO Canada long before Backroads appeared in GPS's and it has worked well for me.
I use a 1GB micro SD card and have most of BC, some of the Yukon, southern Alberta and Saskatchewan loaded on from my computor.

BiG Boar
11-26-2011, 10:57 AM
I have a Garmin GPSmap 60CSx I have had since last season. If you want to buy it I would part with it at a fair price. Comes with the back roads map books chip for BC, PM me if you're interested

Mark_S
11-26-2011, 01:29 PM
Car kits and charger kits are available for many of the Garmin units. If you go to Garmins website and look at a model you are interested in and click accessories it will show you what is available.

Badbrutus