PDA

View Full Version : Bringing the dog hunting... Is it going to be too cold?

ravensfoot
11-16-2011, 01:02 PM
Well, we just got a dog this year and wasn't planning on taking him up hunting till next year but situations as they are have come that the pup is coming up with us on our hunt up in the Cariboo. Forecast temps show lows of minus 15 on Sunday. If the Gunner (yes his name is gunner) is out with us in those temperatures do I need to worry about his feet (too much exposure to cold ground). I know wild dogs live in this stuff all the time but this is not a wild dog and Im sure he isn't conditioned to it. Or am I just being a pansy for my dog's sake? Also, any other tips while having the dog with us? This is my first time with a dog deer hunting.

Dog Breed: Lab X Border Collie X Rhodesian Ridgeback.
Age 5 Months
All shots up to date including Tic/Flea/worm prevention (Revolution)
http://www.ravensfoot.com/hunting/pics/_MG_2419-3-sm.jpg

RoscoeP
11-16-2011, 01:11 PM
Not sure about the feet but maybe some blaze orange to prevent getting shot by some hunter. Cheers Roscoe

ravensfoot
11-16-2011, 01:18 PM
Where do they sell those vests in the LM

biggamehntr
11-16-2011, 01:20 PM
Wholesale Sports in Langley does

doubled
11-16-2011, 01:59 PM
Depends on your setup. Is he being left in camp? Is he in a trailer, tent, etc? I would not have him running around for hours on end in those temps if he has not been conditioned.

ravensfoot
11-16-2011, 02:25 PM
I have a 30 foot travel trailer that he will stay in during the morning and eve hunt in his Kennel. The heat will be kept on for him. I would like to try and bring him on one or two afternoon walks in the bush to see how he is with game. Won't be more than an hour or two though.

11-16-2011, 03:07 PM
My personal opinion is it is too cold for them. We took ours to the 'Bou a few years back and would not do it again. They are labs.
I would leave the dog at home if you can.

Sasquatch
11-16-2011, 04:25 PM