PDA

View Full Version : Deer Heart

sapper
11-07-2011, 05:45 PM
So should I shoot a deer this season (didn't manage last year and have been skunked so far this year too) what might I do with the deer's heart? I've had people that I've hunted with keep the heart to give to some friend of theirs. I've been eating a lot more primally for the last two months and am pretty sure the heart must be good for something. For those of you who do eat the heart what do you do with it? How do you prepare it?

frenchbar
11-07-2011, 05:55 PM
Best part of the deer imo ..i slice it into rings ..coat with flour and spices and fry it up have it with bacon and spuds ..good stuff ! usualy have some liver with it done the same way .

coach
11-07-2011, 06:01 PM
What Frenchie said! It's delicious. Now go get yourself a deer.

Trapper D
11-07-2011, 06:06 PM
first let sit overnight in salty water, then you can slice it going around it lenght ways , cutting thickness of 1/2 inch till you cut to center. you will end up with about a foot long strip 1/2 inch thick , flour salt and pepper it. while you were doing that half cook 4 strips of bacon ,take them out put heart in brown both sides , minute each or so. take heart out. then place 2 strips bacon on heart and roll them inside heart. place other 2 on top, tie string around heart with bacon , throw in oven and bake 45 minutes 350 . when cooked slice like roast .. very good way to cook deer heart

frenchbar
11-07-2011, 06:10 PM