PDA

View Full Version : Re-using bags?

Black Bird
11-03-2011, 11:55 AM
Hi there,

Two questions:

1) I am wondering if anyone every re-uses their game bags. I have heard that you can buy some that are washable, but I am wondering if anyone has bothered to wash the regular ones between deer. I would think it should work (and save me a few bucks).

2) Does anyone who butchers their own game re-use their vacuum pack bags? I just had a roast last night (this is my first year using a vacuum pack system) and I realize that it looks like I could wash out, disinfect and then store the bags for the next deer).

By posting these two questions one has to ask, am I cheep! You bet...

:mrgreen:

Cheers,
BB

mark
11-03-2011, 11:59 AM
Yup, I do it all the time for sausage mostly! (Im not cheap, just thrifty! :-D)

Mr. Dean
11-03-2011, 11:59 AM
I soak mine in a light bleach mixture and then wash twice, using no detergent for the 2nd wash.

I don't bother with reusing packaging.

betteroffishing
11-03-2011, 03:26 PM
yep and yep , waste not want for naught is how i was raised. hand wash both in a light dish soap sollution then soak in bleach , pull freezer bags out of bleach and hang with clothesline clipsto dry , pull cheesecloth/ game bags out of bleach and rinse with fresh water a couple times then hang to dry. the freezer bags should not be re-used when used for fish , smoked meat , sausage , as the plastic has memory and will store the flavor / odor forever. otherwise have at er

35 Whelen
11-03-2011, 04:33 PM
As far as game bags go... I use twin sheets sewn in half with a drawstring and after shooting game, reused them over and over. Biggest thing is getting all the blood out and that is best accomplished by soaking the bloodied bags in a bathtub full of cold water overnight, then launder in cold water with a bit of bleach to sanitize and away you go. As for reusing vacuum bags...never done it so I can't say.

coach
11-03-2011, 04:36 PM