PDA

View Full Version : Still no luck, but I'm enjoying the process. . . I think.

Stéphane
10-28-2011, 09:59 PM
Okay, this is my first year hunting deer, and it is a serious learning curve. I really enjoy my time in the woods and I am getting much better at spotting games. But it is also getting frustrating too. I go a few times a week 15 minutes away from my house, so it's not too complicated that way, and not too expensive either.

I saw many does, 4 kills (figured out it was a cougar's job when I saw some fresh paw prints) and one buck who was too far - 100 yards away and no time to chase him.

Today, I had 2 does 20 yards away from me. One stared at me for almost 5 minutes. I thought it would be a good idea to test my chance at taking a shot. So, I raised my bow at full draw and picked a spot on her side . . . she was quartering away. I thought it would be easy to do, but in the forest, it was dark and I had a harder time than I thought picking the spot. So, I'm glad I had a practice and will probably do it again if I see a doe again. I finally found the spot I was seeking, then brought to bow back down and smiled. I was happy. It took a bit longer than I wanted too, but I'm glad it wasn't a buck because I he would have been gone. Hopefully I'll be ready by the time I see a buck.

Steelco said to me that as long as you see game it's a good day. I'm leaving by that mantra for now. I sure hope I can get my first one soon. I'm going again tomorrow and hopefully will have some picture to post instead of words.

Ubertuber
10-28-2011, 10:24 PM
You're gonna be stoked when you finally connect. It'll be fist pumping action.:)

Sounds like you're doing everything right, now all you need is time.

Steeleco
10-28-2011, 10:25 PM
That Steeleco guy sure is full of it LOL Sounds like your having fun at least. The right one will step in your way soon enough. Time afield = meat in the freezer.

Bow Walker
10-29-2011, 10:55 AM