PDA

View Full Version : Do these count as a tine by the definition in the regs?

sammy-j-peppers
10-26-2011, 09:46 AM

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg203/efdkelly/IMG_6221.jpg

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg203/efdkelly/IMG_6222.jpg

r106
10-26-2011, 09:50 AM
I'm no expert but I would say yes.

Isn't the rule - 1 inch or longer and longer than it is wide

10-26-2011, 09:50 AM
yep,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Weatherby Fan
10-26-2011, 09:54 AM
Check page 5 of the regs,
If a tine is longer than 1 inch it's considered a tine unless it's breadth is greater than the 1 inch length than it's not considered a tine.
The 2 pictures of tines you display would be considered a legal tine by the definition printed in the regs.

sarg
10-26-2011, 10:09 AM
Yup it's a tine, what's it of of? Moose?

Philcott
10-26-2011, 10:15 AM
Yes on both.

boxhitch
10-26-2011, 11:10 AM
You guys have to read more
#1 - can't determine from one measurement, can only guess what the breadth is at 2.5 cm from the end, the minimum where it can be measured.
#2 - again , only one measurement given. Depending on where the breadth line is spotted, the length may not be greater. Tines don't have straight edges.

reach
10-26-2011, 11:34 AM
You guys have to read more
#1 - can't determine from one measurement, can only guess what the breadth is at 2.5 cm from the end, the minimum where it can be measured.
#2 - again , only one measurement given. Depending on where the breadth line is spotted, the length may not be greater. Tines don't have straight edges.
I would say yes to both. On #1, why not use the point where he put the tape... 1 1/8" long and, from my highly scientific measurement of putting my finger and thumb up to the screen :D just under 1" wide.

On #2, you can pick anywhere you like to measure it as long as it's over 1" long, so pick a spot that works. I would pick about 3" in where it is about 2" wide.

The first one could use some careful measurement but #2 is a no brainer.

ramron