PDA

View Full Version : Bear defence

elcazador
10-21-2011, 09:40 PM
I'm new at bow hunting and I like to stalk and still hunt, deer at this point, i go solo all the time.

I have not encountered any dangerous wildlife (Grizz bears, not so much for the black variety), but I know i will encounter some.

I carry a small machete, a good size canister of bear spray but that is it (recomendations on new equipment would be appreciated) lately I have been a little more aware of my environment and when i hear big trashing close, i just start thinking the worst! reach for my bear spray and that's it just waiting for a charge! i know this is all in my head but I'm feeling a little exposed.

if a bear charges me and i have a full draw on my bow i think is not likely i would hit him on a fatal kind of way, so if a bear charges me the only thing i can do is bear spray... 15 ft... by them i would have a cardiac arrest with all that adrenaline going on, so i want to hear opinions and recommendations on how to handle this kind of situations, or just stories of what have worked for you.

I know if a had a rifle/shotgun, I would feel more confident on any kind of big game confrontation.

madrona sh
10-21-2011, 09:48 PM
You probably will do alright with your bear spray. It's up to you really. Maybe an air horn?

IslandHunterBXL
10-21-2011, 11:06 PM
Never been in that situation myself were i was charged. But i shake my head at bear spray. Id say carry a shotgun if you have one, and if its charging you, and within 15 ft, it should already be dead! A bear can run 40+ kph? or something like that. At 15 feet you have about half a second. If you feel safe in that situation with bear spray, you are ten times the man i am! haha. I asked similar question a few weeks ago about what kind of loads to use for a shotgun in that situation. If you can find that thread there was some good info on there from folks much more experienced than I. Good luck and be safe!

180grainer
10-21-2011, 11:50 PM