PDA

View Full Version : Butchering your kill at camp

Bigbruin
10-21-2011, 09:00 PM
I can't seem to get any straight answers on this subject. Can a person process his kill while at camp. I'm talking cut wrap and freeze in the regs it says the animal must be identifiable until it reaches your residence or a butcher. Well I butcher all my own meat but I'm not a buycher by trade.So I put it out to you I look forward to the responses

lovemywinchester
10-21-2011, 09:03 PM
Do not butcher it at camp. Wait till you get home. That's all you need to know.

Steeleco
10-21-2011, 09:07 PM
The question as been asked in the past that is very similar in intent to yours, only folks want to know the regs with regard to "de-boning" meat for those long pack outs. I don't recall if I ever read a post where the answer was clear cut.

What if your hunting from your mountain cabin and cut it there, it's a residence. Once it's cut/wrapped how would anyone know you didn't use a commercial cutter?
As you can see there's lots of twists to the same question, just not too many answers!!

lovemywinchester
10-21-2011, 09:13 PM
If you get checked on the way home and have wrapped meat you will be fined. Happened to my buddy last year. The CO was quite clear that it cannot be "butchered" until HOME. He was checked on the Duffy road and was fined around $150 or so.

remington666
10-21-2011, 09:21 PM
i also would suggest waiting till you get home i have been stopped by c.o.s a handfull of times ,you just never know ,its not worth the fine it seems like one of those laws that could change with each individual officer because it doesnt make alot of sense .

Mr. Dean
10-21-2011, 09:24 PM
Can a person process his kill while at camp.

I once had 2 deer from 2 different MU's, in a budd's home-built cooler that's ~ a 5hr drive from my home. I wanted to self cut these animals there because I had good helpers (some family, some friends) that were well versed in the process and could lend me some pointers.