PDA

View Full Version : i need some advice please!

tanker
10-16-2011, 11:19 PM
im a rookie this is my first season, and im using a 25-06 my friend was shooting 120 grain bullets through it and it was copper fouling really bad! i spent 5 hours cleaning after going through 1/2 a box. so we order'd PREMIUM V-SHOK in 85 grain to se how that shoots it will be hot, but will it hit hard enough and do its job for a deer that i hope on finding this year.

thank you much appreciated

tanker

scottwh
10-16-2011, 11:36 PM
Those 85 grain v-shocks will take a deer no problem. Shot placement is everything though. Im shooting 120NP's out of my 257wby (which is 25 cal as well) and have no problem with copper fouling. Give them a try if you can find some! I myself like a little heavier bullet, but thats just personal preferance.

gibblewabble
10-16-2011, 11:43 PM
Wipe out to clean your barrel works like a charm and once the barrel is clean it shouldnt foul so quickly.

tanker
10-17-2011, 07:55 AM
thanks a lot guys

tash
10-17-2011, 08:35 AM
Another vote for Wipe Out.

Jonas111
10-17-2011, 08:51 AM
Third Vote for wipe out.

I only use Barnes in all my guns and I don't have any issues after using wipe out.

Jagermeister
10-17-2011, 09:29 AM
After the Wipeout, use Blue Wonder, or just skip the Wipeout and use Blue Wonder.

Experience speaks here. I have used Birchwood Casey, Butch's Bore Cleaner and Wipeout. Blue Wonder is a superior product and cleans up after the others.

One other product that I have heard good things about, is Prolix. I believe that our Olympic Shooting Team uses it exclusively. The product is Prolix, here's the link http://www.prolixlubricant.com/

I too have a 25.06 that had some good copper fouling. I thought that I had it clean until I ran some Blue Wonder through it. I was amazed at how much green was still present after the cleaning using two of the other products.