PDA

View Full Version : Help with an immy

Mishka
10-16-2011, 09:32 PM
Okay, here's the situation. I spotted an immy crossing a fsr and heading down a heavily wooded area that follows a creek. The creek parallels the fsr but cannot be seen from the road. There wasn't enough daylight for me to comfortably attempt a kill (and deal with it). I'm a newbie and on my own. My question is, do you think this moose would still be around that area or would he be long gone now? Do moose have large territories that they cover? Do they travel at night? Thanks for all your help guys and gals.

KB90
10-16-2011, 09:34 PM
I'd be there first thing, they don't go far!

boxhitch
10-16-2011, 09:42 PM
Its a 50/50 chance, unless you know a better place than where you just spotted one, I would be there.

tristanmac
10-16-2011, 10:09 PM
Be there at first light, what do you have to lose?

bigmuley
10-16-2011, 10:10 PM
same thing happened to me spotted a week before season opened and i went all weekend to the spot and surrounding areas where i saw him cow calling even trying to get the cow out by calf calling and no luck!

Mishka
10-16-2011, 10:22 PM
Yeah, I'll head back there tomorrow morning. I'm not sure how I'll hunt the creek yet, but I'm studying google maps right now. Like tristanmac said, I've got nothing to lose.

*bcgold*
10-16-2011, 10:24 PM
I would hang in the area and in awhile I figure where the creek flows to

Caveman
10-16-2011, 10:28 PM
Moose, I find are territorial. If that immy was there today, he won't be far. Stake out the most logical areas close by and you'll get another chance I once came upon a buddies father in law who had just spooked one across the road in front of two others. No one pursued him so I made my plans to be there the next morning and behold he was mine. Stay close

Mishka
10-16-2011, 10:42 PM