PDA

View Full Version : whens the rut

hunterman
10-16-2011, 04:21 PM
so im still fairly new to hunting and just wondering when the mule deer rut happens in and around region 3? also is it at the same time as the white tail rut?

BrowningWSM
10-16-2011, 04:44 PM
Generally arrives 1st week of Nov then falls into 2nd week... Climate plays part of a roll

MuleyMadness
10-16-2011, 04:59 PM
Well, I have to disagree, at least as far as MD go....In my many years hunting around here the mule deer never really seem to really get into full rut until the 7th, with it generally seeming to peak between the 15th and the 22nd. Climate plays some role, as it does cause concentration of animals, but in reality the rut is ruled by daylight hours, and lunar cycles, NOT frost or temperature. Menstrual cycles are not ruled by weather (temps)in any mammal. It's why many of us leave the house for a week at a time every 28 days, because that particular pleasure of life is in tune with the lunar cycle as well. :)

MOOSE MILK
10-16-2011, 05:09 PM
What Muley Maddnes says.

jeff
10-16-2011, 05:18 PM
last year up in region 8 at around 6500 ft the rut was in fill swing on oct 26th when i bagged a nice buck chaseing does . his neck was swollen big time and he stunk. the next morning we saw two more groups of does and they had 3 pointers with them

Jelvis
10-16-2011, 06:01 PM
Main rut (mature doe October 23rd to Nov 4th), then (yearling doe til Nov 11th) then left overs, every 28 days after.
Main rut is October 23rd to Nov 4th ... be there or be square .. last dance nov 12 to nov 24th then you missed it seen yor.
Jel .. Just the facts mam .. Information from the Kamloops Bio' department ..
The deer in Kamloops are migrating already from the Bonaparte .. Rut October 23 on

dana
10-16-2011, 06:07 PM