PDA

View Full Version : Deer migration

champs
10-15-2011, 09:19 PM
I have been hearing in the last several years about this "mass migration" of deer to the Fraser River. Could someone please explain this to me? From how far away do deer travel to go to the Fraser River? When does this happen? Will deer in say the Merritt area migrate to the Fraser? Princeton? Kelowna? Seems a little unbelievable to me. I trust that deer must descend when deep snow forces the issue, but can't they just descend in their local range and have the same results. Puzzled and interested. Thanks.

mark
10-15-2011, 09:31 PM
merrit, princeton, kelowna.....NO.
They come from the mountains and drainage's on either side of the river.
The farthest some deer travel to the river, is from the mountains to the east of 100 mile area from what I understand.

Weatherby Fan
10-15-2011, 09:36 PM
Im no expert by any means but Im sure the deer in the Princeton area don't migrate to the Fraser to winter,most deer in BC don't have to far to their wintering grounds to be on some arrid river benches or south facing slopes,some areas its a matter of the the north side of the the hill to the south side of the hill or mountain,
I'm sure there's some that migrate a fair ways alright but not when the deer of Princeton have beautiful wintering grounds all around the Princeton area.

elkdom
10-15-2011, 09:41 PM
is it true when the deer get to the Fraser River,,, the deer then snorkel across to the other side? ,,,

who supplies these deer with snorkels ?

or is all this a rumor ?:cry:

Weatherby Fan
10-15-2011, 09:49 PM
is it true when the deer get to the Fraser River,,, the deer then snorkel across to the other side? ,,,

Elkdom someone with your experience should know they have built in snorkles along with the hollow hair !

mark
10-15-2011, 09:51 PM

While I realize yer joking, deer swim across the fraser like they are walking.
Ive seen whole herds jump in and cross like a walk in the park!

dana