PDA

View Full Version : Any of you guys bowfish? i sure do!

Wildman Expedtions
10-09-2011, 09:02 PM
Just wondering if there is some guys in the okanagan valley that bowfishes! i got into it this year and it is a hoot! share you stories and tales here!

This is a vid of this spring with my friend and I was a blast.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hti8OTd3P68&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

treeclimber
10-09-2011, 09:06 PM
I love it! It's a great way to spend a day In the summer, shoot and release a bunch of carp. It's tricky to aim well beneath your target but it's a blast

Amphibious
10-10-2011, 06:48 AM
great vid! i've been spearfishing the Okanagan for the last 5 or 6 years. it's a lot like bowfishing, but you have to get in the water with them, and the ranges are much shorter.

http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?67061-Carpocalypse-Now!

Grantmac
10-10-2011, 06:01 PM
I'd love to try it thats for sure!

jetboat jim
10-10-2011, 06:37 PM
hope you dont consider yourself a "hunter" from what i see in the vid it seems like your waisting the fish......not the message you want to send to the general public, i dont want them all thinking I'm a butcher like you.

and it hardly looks sporting shooting fish at your feet.

Wildman Expedtions
10-10-2011, 07:03 PM
No we grinded them up in the chipper for fertalizer garden turned out great this year, They are an invasive fish so Don't go critisizing me before you get the facts straight. I contacted fisheries about it and they asked me to take as make carp as i can, as they are invasive so i did my part. As for not being a challenge? this was during the spawn after this i was shooting off a wharf 20ft down then having to aim under the refraction of the water, You can try it , it's not simple and easy. bowfishing ain't for everyone -cheers

knockturnal
10-10-2011, 08:53 PM