PDA

View Full Version : First Elk

DeDutch
10-08-2011, 09:20 PM
I am pretty new to this site, but I have been hunting for a few years now. Anyhow this year I was out looking for elk somewhere in northern BC, Day 1 I messed around prety high up in the mountians and heard maybe some bugles but it was tough to tell if it was actually elk with all the wind. I did find lots of elk sign in the area.....but after checking the direction of the prints, it was soon evident that all the elk prints from 4 different roads were headed in the same rough direction.....up and over the mountain.

Before I get too far I should mention that on this hunt I was hunting solo, and had failed to kill an elk thus far in my hunting career. Yes I had bugled in a 3 point and a 6 point in to 50 feet and missed them in Saskatchewan(a 2 years back) and last year I woke up on the first day of the hunt to a bull not even 200 yards from my camp.....I never did find my binos never mind bullets in time to see if he was legal never mind shoot him, later that hunt I bugled in a spike bull, failed to convince a larger bull to come out of the willow patch he was hanging out in, and a day later moved in on a bull who was bedded in an old beaver flood after hearing him bugle but well that one was mostly due to impatience.....I guess even bull elk don't always like yappy women(cows)....
With that many missed opportunities and looking at these fresh elk tracks in front of me, I decided that I really didn't need an elk that badly to make me climb all the way up that mountain.