PDA

View Full Version : 22 or 12g for hunting grouse?

Hunter121
09-28-2011, 10:08 PM
I am new to hunting, and I was just wondering what do you prefer a 22 rifle or a 12 g shotgun for hunting grouse and why ? Keep in mind that I will be hunting without a dog.

The Dawg
09-28-2011, 10:29 PM
22, as using the 12g from up close, you might not have much left!

Livewire322
09-28-2011, 10:38 PM
.410 shotgun

todbartell
09-28-2011, 10:50 PM
I've always used a 22 until this fall, I picked up a 410 shotgun. 6/6 so far with minimal damage to the bird boobs. Works good unless you try to stretch it past 20-25 yards

bosca
09-28-2011, 10:59 PM
shot gun for sport ...catch them in flight.
22 for food.
I have done both and really enjoy the hunt with a really well trained dog and a shotgun...but if you want grouse without having to pick through the lead pellets then stick with a nice clean head shot with your 22. Most bird hunters would frown upon the fact that you are taking a bird from the ground but ...I guess it all depends on your objective.

PointMan
09-28-2011, 11:16 PM
I use an old Savage .22/.410 over/under, I love the thing, first shot is with the .22 because it's cheap and does little or no real damage, if I miss and it goes to wing I can do a quick follow up with the .410 scatter shot.

olsonb
09-28-2011, 11:40 PM
.22 all the way

Tikka270
09-29-2011, 12:25 AM
.410 all the way. I use a browning bps.

NorthShoreX
09-29-2011, 02:18 AM
You could even use the .22LR with #12 bird shot rounds. I'm thinking of trying it out on my next trip.

sarg
09-29-2011, 07:52 AM
.410 is where its at for grouse, but i would rather the 12g over the .22 way less damage with the 12g then the .22. that just my 2cent
sarg

09-29-2011, 08:08 AM
You could even use the .22LR with #12 bird shot rounds. I'm thinking of trying it out on my next trip.

No dont. #12 is way too small, and how much powder do you think is behind them.