PDA

View Full Version : Mountain Goat

Robfriend
09-27-2011, 10:13 AM
Ok so i've been hunting for around 17 years (i'm 29 now) and i've taken some nice animals (Deer and Moose). So this year I thought to start hunting different animals, this year I drew a mountain goat in 3-36 and parts of 3-37 and 3-42.

So i did my research (books, internet and even talked to a CO). So what the hell i'm i doing wrong. I've hunted this area in the passed trying to get into the areas for goat is hell, between getting my ATV stuck then while getting out my gun falls out of the holder and into the creek, completly under water, new zeiss scope all dented and scratched. Bushwacking in really thick stuff, climbing and falling over logs, hiking for 5 hours in this stuff trying to get through this stuff to get where the goats are and thats with a 4000 altitude change, very steep.

Now that im done venting has anybody hunted in this area before? (Tum Tum Lake) and Can anybody give me advice on hunting goats.

Rodd
09-27-2011, 10:52 AM
Keep doing what your doing... Sounds like a typical Goat hunt to me... Nothing easy about Goat Hunting! I like to spot them, before i hike the 4000ft.... Get a good spotting scope... Save you many footsteps! Good Luck! You'll get one.. :)

Robfriend
09-27-2011, 11:03 AM
Thanks I've been looking before going up but the CO told be that they are on the east facing slopes so thats the biggest problem trying to get there. The only way is to climb up and over. I have to laugh cause he said that a goat hasn't been taken out of this MU (that he can recall). I'll post so pics

09-27-2011, 11:12 AM
There is a reason goat hunting can be more dangerous then Grizz. It aint because the animal can kill you, it is because where they are can kill you!
Never done it myself and now you know why. Good news is when you succeed you will have earned every bit of it.

TSW
09-27-2011, 11:15 AM
Sounds like goat hunting to me...fun eh?!

Amphibious
09-27-2011, 12:44 PM