PDA

View Full Version : New Guy!

Steelheadfreak
09-12-2006, 11:52 AM
Hello everyone.

Well Im new to this and this looks like a good way to get some info. I used to hunt rabbits and small critters as kid but actually havent shot a gun in over 20 years. The new inlaws want me to start hunting with them and I said sure! Now, where do I start is the question. They have no idea as they are Native and dont know the rules that govern me, whitie :lol: . So hear I am. How do I get started? Licenses or courses I need to obtain a firearm? Compulsorary hunting course? Put it this way, Im brand friggin new so please speek in laymans if ya can. Thanks again.

partsman
09-12-2006, 12:21 PM
I will try and add the link to this for the Firearms site.

http://www.cfc-cafc.gc.ca/compliance-conformite/safety-surete/default_e.asp

The Firearms Act requires that individuals wishing to acquire non-restricted firearms must take the Canadian Firearms Safety Course (CFSC) and pass the tests or challenge and pass the CFSC tests without taking the course. Individuals who wish to acquire restricted firearms must also take the Canadian Restricted Firearms Safety Course (CRFSC) and pass the tests or challenge and pass the CRFSC tests without taking the course. The following information refers to safety education and training. Please select from the Menu below.

Blacktail
09-12-2006, 12:32 PM
First off.......welcome to the site
You will find some excellent info and people here.

You will need to take the CFSC Firearms course for a Firearms licence and the CORE course to obtain a resident hunting licence in BC.

Where are you located??
If it is on lower Vancouver Island I can stear you in the right direction.

Steelheadfreak
09-12-2006, 12:44 PM