PDA

View Full Version : Private property or not

mulerider
09-25-2011, 08:09 PM
Will be hunting north of bonaparte in Oct. Got myself a Natural resources canada topo map. Is every square/rectangle with an L#### private land? If so there sure seem to be a lot of them where I want to look for moose. Or is this just Crown land. Do you guys just hunt anywhere as long as your not to close to a house?? I dont want to get myself in shit shooting on private.

hazardiz
09-25-2011, 08:17 PM
cadastre online is a good resource...go to the map and zoom in to your area...you will eventually figure out how to use it and you can get land parcel info and if it is private or crown land...I'm a surveyor and we use it for work lots...great for not treading on private property also...
http://webmaps.gov.bc.ca/imf5/imf.jsp?site=olc

Darksith
09-26-2011, 11:55 AM
that is a great tool, if I am using it correctly. It is telling me that one of my favorite deer hunting spots that is a free range area area for a farmer, is actually crown land. this farmer has a ton of signs that say no tresspassing no shooting...if it is crown owned, he does not have the right to prevent me from being there correct?

tinhorse
09-26-2011, 12:01 PM
I believe if it is a range lease then you can't hunt while there is cattle on the property. I thought most leases are over as of oct. 15th and cattle must be off the grounds. Agriculture lease land is crown property. Please correct me if i am wrong.

Rodd
09-26-2011, 12:03 PM
Not sure about the "No Tresspassing" but if he has a grazing lease on Crown land you would require his permission to hunt there during times when grazing animals are present. I work in the mapping industry, and know of several leases that people hunt without permission on crown land, that seems to go un-noticed by our local CO... But technically you would require permission... another grey zone I suppose.. Have you asked this farmer if it would be ok?

Darksith
09-26-2011, 01:05 PM