PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for some good day hunting areas around the mainland

Hoser767
09-13-2011, 03:55 PM
I am new to hunting, just my second year. Was trying to hunt in Skagit Valley last year but didn't see anything. Anyone have any ideas where to go for day trips? I was thinking Cash Creek or the Penticon area but I don't know those to well.

09-13-2011, 04:18 PM
Get out there and learn'em!
I cant help with "The Where" but i can try to motivate you!

sparkes3
09-13-2011, 05:20 PM
the first thing you need is a backroads mapbook then pick a area with good access then get out and burn some gas to get into that area and then put some miles on your boots to find the deer .

Mr. Dean
09-13-2011, 05:24 PM
Wow, how time fly's......

In the summer of 2006, I started scouting the Coq's hills for deer; they are there.
I ended up killing this one late in October of the same year, less than 1.5 hrs drive from my home in Langley.

It ain't B&C but none-the-less, respectable imo.
Hopefully it'll motivates ya. :wink: :wink:

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/DSC_0009_edited-21.JPG

Steeleco
09-13-2011, 06:04 PM
Mr.Dean is right, there are tone of places to hunt within 2 hours of the LML There's not just a few trails up near Hemlock village, Harrison west and east, Skagit (get up high off the road) Chilliwack river (hunt same as the Skagit) Head north to Squamish or a little further to Pemberton. As you can see there are lots of opportunity, sure none of them are going to be easy, but they're all worth a look see. As suggested a back country map book and a good look on Google earth will give you a good place to start. Don't bounce from spot to spot, pick a spot learn it, learn to read the sign and animal clues. When you've got that one figured out any other new spots will come easier. You'll know pretty quick which ones are worth the effort and which ones to let alone.

Good luck.

huntwriter
09-13-2011, 06:30 PM