PDA

View Full Version : Too hot to hang?

Black Bird
09-12-2011, 06:24 PM
Hi there,

I am looking for some advice. I am heading off to a cabin at Thanksgiving with my family (about 10 of us) and am considering hunting on one of the mornings (probably Sunday). The forecast is looking a little on the warm side. Where I go I am expecting it to get up to a maximum of around 15 during the day and dropping down to 10 at night. I am pretty new to hunting and have shot and hung 2 deer where it got to a maximum of 9 during the day (plus a breeze) and 1 deer last year where the temp was probably around 12 or so (with some breeze). Last year I had to get the game bags on as the flies were a problem, the year before I didn't see any.

So, I guess my question is this. If I shoot a deer Sunday morning, hang the deer by around noon, the temperature gets up to 15C during the day down to 10C at night and back up to 15C the next day before I have a chance to butcher late that night, is the deer likely to be toast?

Any advice would be most appreciated.

Cheers,
BB

358win
09-12-2011, 06:32 PM
Skin it quick. Remove all bloodshot meat. Bags. Keep it in the shade. At those temps you should be good for the time you mentioned.

Tron
09-12-2011, 06:32 PM
I personally would not hang anything in those temps. The meat would not have a chance to cool.

jeff
09-12-2011, 06:35 PM
my opinion . the daytime high of 15 would be ok . but the nighttime temp has to be cooler 3 or 4 even 5 but ten is to high.

604redneck
09-12-2011, 06:43 PM
if its 15 during the day it should drop the 10 degrees at night i would be weary though

mikeboehm
09-12-2011, 06:44 PM