PDA

View Full Version : Hunting Sheep and Muleys in the Marbles

Banjo
09-11-2011, 12:33 PM
I've been hunting moose for 20 years in the shadows of the Marbles (Big Bar to Dog Creek area). We have a cabin, but this year I want to spend a few days in the mountains looking for Sheep and Muleys. Thinking of heading in from the Jesmond fire lookout and staying a few nights in the bush between the 15th and 20th of Oct. walking the ridges.

Anyone have experinces here they're willing to share or tips/words of encouragement or alternative access points?

Much Appreciated!

Thanks

ElectricDyck
09-11-2011, 01:51 PM
I've never been but want to, it's beautiful country. A buddy of mine stayed up mount Kerr at the end of september and woke up to a foot of snow, so be prepared for some cold weather. There's a bit of info on access on the club tread website if you do a search.

http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd75/ElectricDyck/IMG_0302.jpg

kennyj
09-11-2011, 02:27 PM
Dad got a draw the first year it went to LEH. We got his ram in the porcupine drainage and saw a few others. Awesome area. Lots of unique rock formations and beautiful alpine. It will be hard to find a full curl ram, but a 4 point mulie would be a good possibility.
Good luck
kenny

afflicted 1
09-11-2011, 02:39 PM
porcupine creek drainage would probably be a better starting place, but rams are few and far between now especially a full curl but like kennyj said there is definitly some good bucks

Banjo
09-11-2011, 03:43 PM
Thanks Guys!

Big Lew
09-11-2011, 04:29 PM
Definitely some mulies, black bear, and moose from the lookout, south, and toward the park. I've seen many deer and the odd large moose from the north-south powerline and higher during september and into october. Lot of limestone formations and caves up there. Can be treacherous up high, crumbly and some hidden holes, but really beautiful country even if you're just hiking.

srupp
09-11-2011, 05:12 PM