PDA

View Full Version : Montbell Sleeping Bags

merch bc
09-01-2011, 10:13 AM
U.L.SUPER SPIRAL DOWN HUGGER #1

Anyone have or use this bag? Any reviews?
I like the lightweight and packability of a mummy bag, but find them to restrictive for a comfortable sleep. Montbell claims these bags stretch and move with you, even allow you to cross your legs. What about water resistance and durability?

bigwhiteys
09-01-2011, 10:18 AM
I know a few guys on here recommend that specific bag and some other Montbell bags, if you do a search for it you should find some info.

Carl

bruin
09-01-2011, 10:18 AM
I've been using one for 2 years. It's been a good bag. Super light, warm enough. It does stretch but not that much. I didn't like the mummy's much in the past either but I have gotten used to them. If you lay there long enough eventually you fall asleep! They're not water proof.
I would recommend them and would buy one again. I suggest you go to a store, climb in one an roll around for a bit. The only person that can tell you if it's comfortable for you is you.

merch bc
09-01-2011, 10:28 AM
Perfect thanks guys.
Seems no one in central Alberta carries them, just a little concerned ordering one direct and finding it doesn't fit.
Bite the bullet I guess. If it doesn't work for me I'm sure it would work for someone in my family.
Just needed some more input. Alot of the hiking/ climbing site reviews are positive.

MattW
09-02-2011, 06:26 PM
I have one of those in a -12 I think. Nice bag, comfy, pretty easy to move around in. It's down though and not water resistant which isn't really an issue if your tent is tight and you use your head.

Sako7
09-02-2011, 07:15 PM
Bought one for last years hunt. Very impressed. Light,small to pack,warm and not restricting. Not sure of the longevity but so far I would highly recommend .

Bighorn hunter
09-02-2011, 08:07 PM