PDA

View Full Version : processing big game..

ronatron
09-01-2011, 06:00 AM
im new to hunting and have never taken a big game animal, this is the year hopefully. unfurtunatly i am teaching myself. After i drop the animal and track it, i would clip my tag clean out the chest cavity and try to cool the meat. besides that what would i do next. i have never skinned an animal or qaurtered one. I plan on getting a cutter to proccess the animal , but i would like to learn i have the space to do this in my nice cool shop. do you know of any articles or videos that would give me a little more insight on this..

thanks for your help..

Glenny
09-01-2011, 06:15 AM
I.m sure youtube will have some good game cutting clips.

Kalum
09-01-2011, 06:19 AM
Lot's of instructional video on youtube on how to quarter and clean. Here's a link to a fairly good descrption on the gutless method http://elk101.com/webisodes/gutless-video/

bigshooter
09-01-2011, 07:14 AM
Just remember to go slow and do a clean job. Get a cheep tarp. Up untill last year, all my animals that I gutted, I cut from ass to ribcage, stopping at the ribcage, last year was the first time that I split the ribcage, this made it alot easier and it will cool faster. If you quarter an animal you need to know were the cuts need to be made if you want the stakes and roasts to turn out. Youtube is great.

Mr. Dean
09-01-2011, 09:34 AM
DVD.

Deer Processing 101
Seneca Creek Productions/Outdoor Edge

~ $20 and 3 hrs long.
Very detailed on ALL aspects of handling game once the trigger is pulled. Wish I had it when I started out.

Bow Walker
09-01-2011, 10:16 AM