PDA

View Full Version : SHOTGUNS: Remington 870 vs Mossberg?

Enthusiast
08-29-2011, 04:58 PM
OK from the research I have conducted (I'm still a newb without a gun!) I am pretty much settled on everything remington. I showed my preferred shotgun to my coworker and he said "why remington? all the police and military forces use mossberg's". That got me to thinking. I know the 870 is a solid shotty from the reviews I have read, but what's with this mossberg thing? I've gotten the impression that they are more of an entry level gun, their prices are cheaper, but the just don't offer the features of a remington. Anyone's thoughts on this?

Also, for those who do own an 870, what are your thoughts on slugs running through the full choke? Anyone experienced with this as well? I basically want a good, light, quick to aim tactical shotgun for bear defense while i'm hunting. BTW here is a link to the exact shotty I'm looking at:
http://ca.wholesalesports.com/storefront/firearms/pump-action-shotguns/model-870-express-synthetic-tactical/prod262296.html
(I want to know if this is a good one for slugs)

Thanks in advance for your responses.

madrona sh
08-29-2011, 05:04 PM
I have the mossberg maveric 88 and it is one great shotgun. Affordable and works flawlessly. Mind you I do not know a lot about shotguns and mine is used for bears and deer.

fowlweather
08-29-2011, 05:07 PM
no offence to mossberg owners, but i grew up hearing that mossbergs are of less quality, now that may not be the case today but the military uses remington, so think about that one. i am a remington fan, worth every cent

Singleshotneeded
08-29-2011, 05:20 PM
Enthusiast, I've owned a remington 870 12 gauge since the late 80s, fired thousands of shells through it, and
it's never failed to cycle and fire flawlessly! Once I was after some grouse and dropped it in dirt, blew most of it off,
and then pumped it twice to kill two more grouse. You could feel the grit but it still went bang! :-) Mossberg has