PDA

View Full Version : Gps??

walnutz
08-09-2011, 08:59 AM
I thinks it time for me to buy a GPS and im just looking for some advice on what ones are good ect.... I would like something pretty basic to use but reliable.I dont need anything to fancy just something to get from A to B.Im new to the GPS world so would prefer something user friendly.Thanks for any help. Cheers

Steeleco
08-09-2011, 10:24 AM
Buy good buy once. I've had a Garmin 60Csx for some time now and believe they're discontinued? But they should be cheap if you can still find them and compared to the new units they're very basic. It's replacement is the 62Csx and go for around $300 Checkout gpscentral.ca

buck nash
08-09-2011, 10:39 AM
I had a magelin and it completely froze up on me. The status dial just kept going around and around but it would not load up. I pulled the batteries and replaced them. Same thing. Did some internet research and discovered that it is a common failing in magelin units. So I would stay away from them. I replaced it with a garmin legend HCx. It's a bit more expensive but has proven reliable. It's simple to use and interfaces well with your computer and has a slot for micro sd which allows you to install additional maps (ie. backroads map book). It''s been dropped a few times and has been exposed to some nasty weather conditions and still works like new. I've been using mine with the computer to build my own maps and map out game trails for the upcoming season. The only thing I don't like is that the screen could be a bit bigger. I think I paid about $250-$300 for 2 years ago.

Buck
08-09-2011, 11:09 AM
I second the Garmin 60csx i bought mine through Costco online for $199.00 shipped to my door.This unit works great.Fast startup and never looses the connection.I have the BC Backroad map in it as well super unit .

Barracuda
08-09-2011, 12:09 PM