PDA

View Full Version : Single shot shotgun for waterfowling?setting up for the season

Roy Weatherby
08-08-2011, 08:15 PM
Hey all. I was recently given a single shot break action 12 gauge and am wondering if anyone else uses a single shot for waterfowling? This would be my first year to experience duck hunting,and I dont realy want to miss the season. Along with my shotgun...what sort of clothing would I need? waders(camo?) jacket? Just looking to hunt some puddle ducks.Any recomendations on calls?

I got a little carried away with the question...but I'm a rookie!

Thanks everyone

Bucks&Ducks
08-08-2011, 08:27 PM
a shotgun is really all you need everything else is just extra, I hunted my first 10 years of waterfowl without camo I just needed a good blind or good cover, sure it is better to have but it isnt really needed to be successful. for waders they are nice to have to get downed birds and get into the good holes but then again they are extra and you can do just as well with out them.

Decoys are also extra but depending on your hunting style the can be a must. my first few years i would just head to the marsh in the evening and watch where the ducks would fly, then i would get underneath the path and pass shoot them. if you do have decoys to use just make a blind from chicken wire weaved with marsh grass for a hide and dont worry about camo. It all comes down to what you want to do and how much you are willing to spend, your best bet for starting out would be to find an experienced guy with gear to go out with to show you the ropes and then you can move on from there.

TheProvider
08-08-2011, 08:37 PM