PDA

View Full Version : GOS on spike moose vrs LEH

bcfirefly
07-26-2011, 10:07 PM
Was just going over the regs the other night and noticed that in lots if not all of the areas that i plan on hunting in this season have a GOS on spike moose. I got an LEH for a bull moose in region 5 and as this is my first year with tags (always was the horse packer and photographer) i'm curious as to the reason for a LEH draw when one could just get a spike under GOS. I must be missing something? My draw date is late and if i can stay closer to home and not have to deal with extra horses and crap and go out in october why bother with the LEH?
Thanks in advance

Glenny
07-26-2011, 10:16 PM
Region 5 has no spike/fork season. But by all means why not try to nail an immy in region 3 earlier. You might not have to go up there then. But you might miss out on that biggun.:-|

blackwater moose
07-26-2011, 10:17 PM
if you get a draw you don't have have count tines, just see bone and fire away

07-26-2011, 10:34 PM
i'm curious as to the reason for a LEH draw when one could just get a spike under GOS. I must be missing something? My draw date is late and if i can stay closer to home and not have to deal with extra horses and crap and go out in october why bother with the LEH?
Thanks in advance

Success rates for spike/fork moose are very low, there's only about 20% of the bull population that are yearlings and only about half of these will be legal under the spike/fork rule. It's an additional hunting opportunity since yearlings have a very high natural mortailty rate and hunting mortaility is thus compensatory, but it's not a good bet to fill the freezer compared to the lucky dudes who get the any bull LEH.

BCLongshot
07-26-2011, 10:46 PM
Nothing like a guy who gets a draw and then talks like this........

NEXT TIME DON'T PUT IN FOR A BULL DRAW "JUST HUNT FOR A SPIKE"

Foxton Gundogs
07-27-2011, 08:34 AM