PDA

View Full Version : Rod Weight

Shooter Jr.
07-23-2011, 10:32 PM
Well, recently i've been getting interested in fly fishing. I have done a fair bit of research online and I figured a 6 wt fly rod would be good for fishing the campbell river. So I bought a 6 wt. I have done some more research and now i seem to be finding out that i might be "under gunned" with a 6 wt. What is your opinion on a 6 wt. fly rod for pinks? should i take it back? or will it be fine?

Shooter Jr.
07-23-2011, 10:35 PM
Just like to add, i have never fly fished before and I am used to being "rough" with my casting rod and just kind of reel them in. I understand that the drag on the reel with be a huge part of fly fishing, so i don't want to break the rod while I'm still learning to fish.

Steeleco
07-23-2011, 10:51 PM
I've fished the Indian river for pinks on the fly a few times. I use a Sage 5wt and had no problem at all. You'll likely loose a few flies, but if you get into tying your own, it's won't cost too much.
As to the drag, I nearly always have my drag backed of to near the lower setting, I use the palm of my left hand to slow the run of a bigger fish.

If you use a tippet that's close to the weight of your quarry (6lb to 8lb) and a large fish goes on a long run, palm the real and make the tippet break, your gear will be fine and it's only cost you a fly.

Shooter Jr.
07-23-2011, 11:01 PM
That's the other thing i was going to ask about. The fly rod i bought does not have a tippet, or maybe it does but no leader, anyway, one of them is not on there, so i buy a tippet and tie one on? or is the tippet just a preference, the leader thing that is on there now, is tapered at the end, so i would think i would be alright. Bare with me, I'm new :mrgreen:
I have TONS to learn.

Steeleco
07-23-2011, 11:07 PM